An Interview With Rapper Jiggyzz

Jiggyzz

Nick Trapani, probably better know by his stage name “Jiggyzz”, is an independent rapper from my home state of Oklahoma. Very progressive and into the dark side of things, he’s definitely one of my favorite up and coming artists that I like to work with a lot. His upcoming debut album, “Battling Myself”. is a work in progress right now that is shaping up for a 2016 release date. He had time to stop by for an interview in between writing verses for his album, which I am producing for him. Here’s the full interview:

Kyle: First off I’d like to thank you for taking the time to interview with me. Would you like to introduce yourself?

Jiggyzz: My real name is Nick Trapani, but the name I prefer to use on the stage with the mic is Jiggyzz. The name is actually Jiggy, the two z’s are for those sleepin’ on me. I’m just a small town dude tryin to come up in the music business. I just keep workin on it man.

Kyle: You were born and raised in small town Southern Oklahoma. Growing up around the type of people around here, could you give some insight on the unlikely situation that led to you becoming a rapper?

Jiggyzz: Man, look at this place, the Bible Belt of all places, you’d figure rap music isn’t gonna be here, but it is. A lot of my friends growing up would write music and match ’em to beats. I just got lost in music when writing, and where my friends stopped, I just kept on writing.

Kyle: So who are some of your favorite rappers?

Jiggyzz: My favorite rappers have always been the same. Early in life I loved Eminem. My mom even cranked his shit. 2 Pac, Getto Boys, Snoop Dogg, Tech N9ne and Rittz are my favorite artists.

Kyle: What is it about their styles that appeal to you so much?

Jiggyzz: Tupac’s style wasn’t like the style you’d get from the Midwest, so I loved his slower rhythm, and how he portrayed the world around them. Same as these Midwest rappers I hear. Around the Midwest you hear more choppers (edit: fast, rapid-paced rapping). And the lyrical gift to actually say something when spittin’ quick is impressive.

Kyle: How would you say you incorporate elements from these artists into your style? As an artist myself, I typically take elements from all kinds of artists across every genre, to make something new. Do you do something similar?

Jiggyzz: No, I try not to sound like other artists to be real dawg. I have incorporated chopping into my sound, always loved it, but never grasped it well enough to record it. But double time is pointless if you can’t actually say something.

Kyle: Interesting. You also come from a fandom of the most hated band in the world, Insane Clown Posse, but when listening to your music, there is very little of their style that I can hear. How do they influence you?

Jiggyzz: Man yeah I like ICP, you’ll even catch me at a Strange Music event. I like strange sounds and people. The clowns kept me from giving a shit what people thought and I’m a better person because of it.

Kyle: What are your favorite kind of instrumentals to rap to? Obviously I make the majority of your instrumentals, but if you could only make one song to share with the world, what would the instrumental on that song be like?

Jiggyzz: I love orchestra, violins can break or mend a heart if used right man. If I wanted to make one mind blowing song, if have to go with pianos, violins and brass.

Kyle: So you have a brand new record coming out, your debut full-length album, “Battling Myself”. What can you tell us about that record? What kind of headspace does it come from?

Jiggyzz: “Battling Myself” is the outcome of my inner worries and thoughts. What’s gonna become of me if my music doesn’t skyrocket, or the doubt in myself whether or not people are gonna enjoy it or even want it. Sometimes I’m afraid to even pick up my booklets and pen because of that mentality: Battling Myself.

Kyle: What was the first show you ever played? What kind of response did you receive?

Jiggyzz: My first show was fun, it was in Luther, OK. At the Oklahomiez Mini Gathering of the Juggalos. That’s where I met my girlfriend and gained my fanbase. People were unsure of me, I was young, but still had the heart to get up there and work the stage. I was afraid of being axed down but it didn’t happen, even won all my battles on stage.

Kyle: How many shows have you played altogether?

Jiggyzz: I have only preformed around 10 sets in my life and I’m grateful for having supporters and the people who bump my shit.

Kyle: Who is your favorite artist that you’ve either featured with or had feature on a track of yours?

Jiggyzz: To be honest I enjoyed working with Mowgli, dudes a chopper.

Kyle: And who is your favorite local artist?

Jiggyzz: I’d have to say my favorite Local artist would have to be Hang Man.

Kyle: What keeps you doing what you do? The struggle that relatively unknown artists face is definitely not for the faint of heart. Everyone’s got that person or thing that strives them to be better.

Jiggyzz: My little girl & supporters/fans. I do dirt work. And I’m okay at it. And I’m making decent money, but at the same time, it’s not my dream. It’s helped me financially, but it’s not what I’m after. I do hope for success for both me and my daughter. If I can come up so can she.

Kyle: What local artists would you like to work with in the near future?

Jiggyzz: I’m really aiming to work with a few people that I can’t name yet due to the record. But honestly I prefer it when artists hit me up.

Kyle: What personal experiences have you had that you think distinguishes you as an artist? Some things that not everyone might know about.

Jiggyzz: Man.. My laziness to write is definitely a trait. But when i sit down I get it in. My personality doesn’t strike you as a rap artist. So I have trouble with people taking me seriously. Instead I’ve always gotten laughed at or just blank-faced stares when I talk about my music.

Kyle: If you could only play one show, who would you play it with and where would you play it?

Jiggyzz: I would rock the Gathering of the Juggalos with Tech N9ne & Rittz. Ha! Or do Pink Floyd covers wit Roger Waters.

Kyle: Do you see yourself as having the ability to become a mainstream artist? Not in the sense of selling out, but in a type of way that allows you to continue completely being yourself, while still somehow bringing those quirks into a more broad spectrum, similar to Tyler, the Creator or the filmmaker Quentin Tarantino.

Jiggyzz: I see whatcha mean, but naw man, the mainstream isn’t really where I belong. nor where I’d be comfortable. The music industry in the mainstream world and the underground world aren’t comparable, one is a pit bull fight, and the other is a popularity contest. I’ll stay where the doggs stay at.

Kyle: Who are some of your least favorite artists?

Jiggyzz: Least? Ha. Name a rapper on the radio besides TI, or Big Krit. I hate weezy, or Kanye, just never got into their shit. A few tracks rarely come on that I’ve ever enjoyed by relatively mainstream rappers.

Kyle: Is there anything you would like to add? Drop us some links, anything?

Jiggyzz: Just wanna say thank you for having me here and hearing what I gotta say. You always been good to me in the game and I appreciate that dawg. Links? Just find me on reverbnation or Facebook that’s where the tracks are at. My website is down for construction right now.

And that’s all he had to say. From humble beginnings, to small glimpses of success, I hope to share Jiggyzz with the world the only way I can: getting him into my studio and letting him do his thing. Thanks for taking the time to check out this exclusive interview with Jiggyzz!

Copyright 2015 by Kyle Oliver, written 6/18/2015

Kyle Oliver is an award nominated filmmaker for his amazing short film “NUMB“.  He is also a writer, working in screenplays, short stories and novels. To find out more about his latest project,visit http://www.facebook.com/TheManifestingUndead

Leave a Reply

